39 Members Were Sworn into the Congressional Hispanic Caucus Last Night

On January 9, 2018, the Honorable Kenia Seoane Lopez, Magistrate Judge at The District of Columbia Superior Court, swore-in 39 members into the Congressional Hispanic Caucus, the largest delegation in U.S. history. The Congressional Hispanic Caucus Institute (CHCI) hosted the ceremony at the United States Capitol in Washington, DC. Rep. Joaquin Castro (TX-20), Ruben Gallego (AZ-07), Nanette Barragán (CA-44), Adriano Espaillat (NY-13), and Veronica Escobar (TX-16) addressed a packed auditorium. Senate Minority Leader, Charles Schumer, and Speaker of the House, Nancy Pelosi, welcomed both new and returning members of Congress with excitement about this term. Notably, Pelosi reminded the crowd of President Ronald Reagan's words that “immigrants made America.” As she stated, Congressional leadership alongside the Hispanic Caucus will continue to fight for the rights of all who enter into this country.  

National Hispanic Media Coalition (NHMC) is a woman-led 501(c)(3) non-profit civil and human rights organization that was founded to eliminate hate, discrimination, and racism toward the Latino communities.
© 2024 National Hispanic Media Coalition // communications@nhmc.org // o. (626) 792-6462
linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram