Local Impact Awards Luncheon

The 2016 Los Angeles Impact Awards Luncheon took place on September 8th at the Hilton Universal City Hotel. Stay tuned for details for the 2017 Los Angeles Impact Awards Luncheon.

Every year, 200 local industry leaders join NHMC at its Los Angeles Impact Awards Luncheon to honor and recognize media professionals, local talent and community leaders in Los Angeles – the second largest designated market area (DMA), and largest DMA by Latino population, in the country – for their achievements and contributions tothe region’s Latino community.

To read the media advisory, click here. For the press release recapping the luncheon, click here.


To view the photos from the luncheon, click here.


NHMC LA Luncheon Invite 2016

To learn about how you can become a 2016 luncheon sponsorplease contact Brenda Rivas at info@nhmc.org or 626-792-6462.

2016 NHMC Impact Awards Luncheon Sponsors:


news 3

Last year, in an afternoon filled with moving speeches and appreciation of colleagues across all stations, the audience of more than 200 industry leaders was reminded of the importance of honoring and acknowledging the Latino and journalism community.

“I accept this award for that little brown girl sitting at home who might see me on TV and say ‘Hey that looks’ like me,” said Lynette Romero, reporter and anchor with KTLA 5 Morning News. “I accept this award for Alison Parker and Adam Ward, the two young journalists killed in Roanoke, Virginia, who will not be able to continue their careers.”


2015 honorees were:

  • Daniella Guzman, NBC4 morning news anchor – Excellence in Broadcast Journalism
  • Rick Lozano, FOX 11 reporter and anchor – Excellence in Broadcast Journalism
  • Diane Medina, Vice President – Diversity Programs and Community Relations at KABC-TV – Outstanding Service and Commitment to the Latino Community
  • Alejandro Mendoza, Univision reporter – Excellence in Broadcast Journalism
  • Lynette Romero, KTLA 5 morning news reporter and anchor – Excellence in Broadcast Journalism

Past award recipients include: Ruben Luengas, Art LaboeJaime Jarrin, Sam RubinAna Garcia, Big Boy, Laura Diaz, Fr. Greg Boyle and Vikki Vargas.